Choke question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Choke question

Since it was all I had laying around, I used a Hammond 156G choke (9h, 40ma) in a Marshal style homebrew and I have very low volume (about 1/2 of what it should be). I think that it may be due to the ma rating of the choke. In this amp, the choke see's the power tube screens, the pi and the preamp tubes. It has 1 ef86 and 4 12ax7 tubes. Assuming 3ma for the ef86 and 5ma for each half of the 12ax7s and 8ma for power tube screens I get ~51ma which greatly exceeds the 40ma choke rating. Could this cause my low volume problem? Is my choke actually "choking" my amp?

Extremely unlikely imho.

You should have measured circuit voltages, given it is a home brew - were they all ok at idle, and how much did they drop when you applied signal?

Comment

As a noob, I'm going to guess that overfeeding the choke past its rating could severely effect its ability to conduct voltage, causing a drop, and probably heating it up, which would exacerbate the voltage drop and current rise until eventually the choke fails. And if there IS a significant enough voltage drop to the tubes, then output would be reduced across the board. Somebody tell me if I got this right...
      ~Semi-No0b Hobbyist~

Comment

Choke question

All voltages check out at idle. I don't have any measurements with signal applied.

Comment

Perhaps need to check signal levels achieved for each stage, and fault-find if not normal. This would include using a resistive load, and checking waveforms as they pass through each stage and for when sine waveforms start to distort with increasing signal level, and if possible also checking the actual voltage gain levels of each stage.

Comment