Dialing in the trem?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dialing in the trem?

On a new build I used a trem circuit normally employed for 6L6 amps with an EL34 amp. The trem specs B+ @ 303V. I thought my calculations were on but I have a B+ on that node of 320V. The oscillator swing is supposed to be 55V. With the higher B+ it's probably a little more. And the bias voltage on the EL34's is probably less than what 6L6's would use. So there is some odd distortions at the extreme ends of the effect at higher intensity settings. Also, even at lower intensity the trem sort of goes WOMP WOMP WOMP instead of WA WA WA if you get my meaning. Now...

I've never built a trem amp before. I'll figure out how to reduce the oscillator swing and hopefully adjust the waveform. But are there any tips for a trem newb about how the oscillator swing should relate to the bias voltage or what sort of waveform is considered good. As in, we all know that the more staccato on/off effect of the BF roach system isn't revered. So what am I chasing for a bias vary trem? I'll be putting it on the bench some time tonight. I haven't even put a scope to it yet.

Other than these two glaring issues there may be other parameters that I need to idealize. Any experiences and advice would be appreciated.

Chuck
    "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo

"Now get off my lawn with your silicooties and boom-chucka speakers and computers masquerading as amplifiers" Justin Thomas

"If you're not interested in opinions and the experience of others, why even start a thread?
    You can't just expect consent." Helmholtz