Troulbleshooting my 5e3: Bias reading 65mA

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Troulbleshooting my 5e3: Bias reading 65mA

I just completed my 5e3 (after some great grounding info from this forum) and fired it up with the usual steps.
    The amp sounds real good, dead quiet (or as quiet as my other 2 5e3's). After about 20 min of playing (volumes on about 3, volume controlled by guitar vol knob), i let it cool down a bit and moved it to my workbench for some checking and noticed that even after about 30 min of cooldown, the PT was extremely hot to the touch.
    I decided to fire it up yesterday and check the bias with my meter and I'm reading 65mA. I know deluxes run hot, but not that hot!
    I've never had to troubleshoot a 5e3 build before and was wondering if anyone had some insight as to how/where to start?
    This is my first time using Classic tone PT and OT. Other than that, everything is pretty much the same as my other builds.

Please post the 6V6 plate and cathode voltages so we can understand the complete situation. Also verify, by measurement, the resistance of the power amp cathode resistor you have installed.

Comment

Here are some readings i took:

5Y3GT (NOS RCA): pin 2 and 8= 329 vdc
      pin 6= 350.7 vdc
      6V6: pin 3= 311 vdc on one and 309 vdc on the other
      pin 4(both)= 237.4 vdc
      pin 8 (both)= 5.97

Preamps have 111vac and 110vac on pin 1
      Last edited by Jonny toetags; 04-29-2013, 10:07 PM.

Comment

OK.
        Please measure and post the voltage on pin(s) 8 of the 6V6s and the resistance of the cathode resistor. (The resistor that connects pin(s) 8 of the 6V6s to chassis ground.

Comment

Originally posted by Tom Phillips View Post
          OK.
          Please measure and post the voltage on pin(s) 8 of the 6V6s and the resistance of the cathode resistor. (The resistor that connects pin(s) 8 of the 6V6s to chassis ground.
          Resistor measure 41.8 ohm