Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about Guitar circuit in its relation to oscillatng sin wave - Pic included.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Guitar circuit in its relation to oscillatng sin wave - Pic included.

First post here at music electronics forum and wanted to say hi for starters. I've been reading a lot of posts here in the last week and learning quite a bit; am stoked that a forum like this exists.

I've been playing guitar for over 10 years and have never paid much attention to the electronic workings of it and have gotten the bug recently to really understand what is taking place in a guitar circuit.

I've also been reading quite a bit about electromagnetic induction -- from ohm's law, faraday's law, to lenz's law about how an alternating current works, and how a charge can be created by disrupting the magnetic flux in a coil of wire and can generate a current through a circuit.

My question is probably very simple -- I was hoping someone could either confirm or clear up my understanding of a guitar circuit.

I created a picture below with different colors representing the direction of the current in circuit in its relation to the sin wave. Am I understanding this correctly?
    Attached Files

Your drawings make sense in that the signal alternates in direction, but your question would be clearer to me if you were relating it to a guitar signal. A sine wave is generally fed to an amp using a signal generator. A guitar doesn't to generally create a sine wave although it can come pretty close using harmonics.

Comment

Current changes direction (flow of electrons reverses, if you prefer) where the sinewave crosses =-line. At the peaks of the sine it only reaches its maximum and then decreases in magnitude to 0 a.s.o. At the 0-crossing current & voltage change polarity.
      Aleksander Niemand
      Zagray! amp- PG review Aug 2011