the standby switch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• the standby switch

What are the merits of different standby wiring schemes? In many Fender circuits it is switching hot B+. In an Ampeg circuit I am studying, it switches the PT CT to ground. The latter seems safer to me. Has anyone heard of a Fender standby switch failing and electrocuting anyone?
    It's weird, because it WAS working fine.....

Originally posted by Randall View Post
    Has anyone heard of a Fender standby switch failing and electrocuting anyone?
    I've heard stories of famous musicians being killed by electrocution, but I've never heard any details discussed where the exact cause was clearly identified. (I guess nobody who's been killed by electrocution has lived to tell the story.)

later Fender-style standby switches DC. That's harder on the switch than switching AC. With CT switching you have to be careful about runaway bias. In other words, cathode bias = yes, fixed bias = no (unless you think things through).
    "Stand back, I'm holding a calculator." - chinrest

"I happen to have an original 1955 Stratocaster! The neck and body have been replaced with top quality Warmoth parts, I upgraded the hardware and put in custom, hand wound pickups. It's fabulous. There's nothing like that vintage tone or owning an original." - Chuck H

Comment

The devil makes me want to say that it's even safer to make the standby switch be a high voltage, high current MOSFET from the cathodes of the power devices to ground. You can switch that with a reed switch.

Even safer, use a P-channel MOSFET in the B+ line, driven by a LED-to-PhotoVoltaic isolator and get 4kV of isolation in the isolator, then drive the LED side from the heater supply.
      Amazing!! Who would ever have guessed that someone who villified the evil rich people would begin happily accepting their millions in speaking fees!

Oh, wait! That sounds familiar, somehow.

Comment