Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hughes and Kettner 6L6 Guitar Valve Amp- Oscillation/ Rattle/ Reverb Issue

Hey,
    I joined this forum today and I'm a hobbyist guitar maker from Australia.

I recently purchased a 2nd hand H&K 6L6 for $850 to use in my guitar making shop for testing guitars as they came off the bench and for some gigging (they retail in AUS for between $1900 and 2400 not including shipping/ postage)
    When I tested the amp before I bought it I didn't hear any audible issues with the amp but when I got it home and plugged in a different guitar I was getting this odd metalic oscillation/ rattle not dissimilar from a spring or filament hitting glass that was audible when playing individual notes that had more bass in them (String A an D frets 6-10 were worst). So I instantly thought tubes or reverb tank (leak/ crack or the tank was cactus) were gone. I found out after calling around that the reverb tank would apparently cost around $70 to replace the part and roughly $80 per hour to fit it.

I then plugged in the guitar which I tested the amp with when I purchased it and got the same rattle. Crap!!!
    I had the same issue with my H&K 20 watt (which was rectified under warranty and still works fine after 5-6 years and I adore the tone of which is why I bought this one as the price was right).

I replaced the preamp tubes (there was no audible difference) same issue...Then I tested the 6l6 tubes by lightly tapping them with a piece of plastic whilst playing the notes causing the oscillation (nothing audibly different occurred here either). Putting my ear closer to the electronics enclosure I realised it sounded as if it was coming from in there (where I would imagine the reverb tank is also housed as it is not housed on the bottom of the cabinet like some Fender Style Amps).