Vox Cambridge 15 and Cambridge 30 reliability upgrades, mods, and tweaks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vox Cambridge 15 and Cambridge 30 reliability upgrades, mods, and tweaks

I wasn't sure whether to post this here or in Mods and Tweaks, but since I have a Cambridge 30 with Cambridge-itis I chose to post it here. I am an absolute novice guitar amp tech as compared to many members of this forum, but I do have a complete electronics workbench and a full understanding of standard practices and safety procedures drawn from my many years as a tech in a related field.

What I have is both a Cambridge 15 and a Cambridge 30 from the 90's that I'm interested in tweaking and upgrading for the kids and grandkids to enjoy. The 15 really doesn't have any problems except the Celestion Bulldog speaker is tiring and the preamp tube is just about shot as evidenced by the tone dulling over time. The 30 is starting to suffer from Cambridge-itis, so I want to use it as an opportunity to tweak both amps without reinventing the wheel so to speak.

I really want to keep things simple as possible without compromising the end results; here are the things I'd like to accomplish:

Cambridge 15: I'm pretty much set on placing the tube and pulling the speaker baffle and installing a 10" alnico speaker. Tremolo has always worked decent, but now would be the time to assess the optocoupler and perform the VTL5C3 upgrade that is talked about so often. I'd be interested in upgrading the output chip if I can do so without performing major surgery such as upgrading the PT. Finally, now is the time to perform any filter cap upgrades or other reliability or tone mods that have proven to be worthwhile without creating a dreadfully poor cost/benefit result.