Aux Send Question ???????????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aux Send Question ???????????

Hey I'm very new to this. Just a quick question . Can you split a signal coming out of the aux send without compromising the signal? If I use a Y lead cable? Will the signal be the same at both leads? 2M 6 35mm 1 4" Stereo Jack Plug to Twin 6 35mm 1 4 inch Mono "Y" Lead BN | eBay

Maybe, but not with that. That is an insert cable, it splits a "stereo" jack into send and return cables. It is not a simple Y cord. A simple Y cord would allow you to send the one signal to two places, but whether they would interact is up to you to find out.

What are you trying to connect?
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

I think there is a little confusion and a better answer would be "maybe". Is it an insert or an aux send. If a true Aux send it is another buss that is useful for just what you want to do and is often connected to a patchbay in a studio that is "mult'ed" or sent to a row of jacks that are all in parallel intending to drive outboard gear that is much higher in input impedance than the source impedance of the send bus so signals will not drop(much).
      An insert jack is different and is as Enzo describes, but can still be used for your task if you wire a TRS plug so the ring and tip are connected together and the signal to your outboard gear is connected to the ground terminal of the plug and the signal wire connected to the junction of the tip and ring connection. Signal paths in an insert are not going to be as low of impedance so connecting the extra tap will possible impact the sound slightly in the internal path of the unit with the insert jack.

What models of units are you trying to interconnect?

Comment

I want to connect a Monitor In stereo. And I don't have enough Aux send inserts on my board to send 2 separate signals.

Comment