Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting broken guitars and tube amps.

Hey everyone,

I am a member over at strat-talk forum. I tried to ask a question over there but no one offered any input..... so strat talk and music electronics forum user rhgwynn suggested I try asking you guys

Sooo anywayyysss.......

I'm pretty new to guitar and amplifier hardware, repair, and modding but I really want to get into it.
    I am handy and know my way around electronics pretty well, I have no doubt that I will be capable to fix and change guitars... and I'm %85 sure I will be able to fix amps (at least most problems).
    So I put an ad on Kijiji last night asking for broken guitars and tube amps and I will pay a small sum to anyone who gives me their stuff.

Sooooo do you guys this strategy will work? Have any of you tried it? If you don't think it will work, what do you think is a good way to get guitars and parts for next to nothing?

Thanks guys,
    MeCayden

If you heckle long and hard enough at a gig, you might get one hurled at your head. Musicians are a thrifty bunch, but it can't hurt to try.

The classic cheap way into tube amps is to get a tube console stereo, radio, organ amp or PA amp, and modify it into a guitar amp. This is harder than ever nowadays as we are gripped by retro madness, anything with tubes in it is cool. But you can still find such things now and again in thrift stores or at the dump.
    "Enzo, I see that you replied parasitic oscillations. Is that a hypothesis? Or is that your amazing metal band I should check out?"

Comment

Originally posted by MeCayden View Post
      Hey everyone,

I am a member over at strat-talk forum. I tried to ask a question over there but no one offered any input..... so strat talk and music electronics forum user rhgwynn suggested I try asking you guys

Sooo anywayyysss.......

I'm pretty new to guitar and amplifier hardware, repair, and modding but I really want to get into it.