Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Ampeg SVT 4 PRO Mono Bridge Switch Missing???

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0

    Ampeg SVT 4 PRO Mono Bridge Switch Missing???

    Hey All…
    I just resieved a SVT 4 Pro from the US and Im very happy… Its an awearsome amp…
    I configured it to Euro Volt 230 volt and its ALIVE 
    My only problem now is the following:
    The MONO BRIDGE SWITCH is missing???? Cut clean of the legs!
    How does the amp performe 1. In stereo 2. In Mono Bridge or 3. Not at all. ???
    I dident have the nerve to test with a cabinet as longe the switch is missing
    What do I do? In witch configuration can I use the amp or is it not posible without the mono bridged Switch
    Cheers
    Joergen aka Highcube
    From Denmark

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Old Timer Leo_Gnardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Dogpatch-on-Hudson
    Posts
    5,262
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 337/5
    Given: 276/0
    Quote Originally Posted by Highcube View Post
    Hey All…
    I just resieved a SVT 4 Pro from the US and Im very happy… Its an awearsome amp…
    I configured it to Euro Volt 230 volt and its ALIVE 
    My only problem now is the following:
    The MONO BRIDGE SWITCH is missing???? Cut clean of the legs!
    How does the amp performe 1. In stereo 2. In Mono Bridge or 3. Not at all. ???
    I dident have the nerve to test with a cabinet as longe the switch is missing
    If appropriate jumpers were made (to simulate the position of the "stereo/bridge" switch) then no major problem. On occasion At times I have removed those switches and applied jumpers to keep an amp in "stereo", for the safety of the amp and its operator. Bridge mode can be tricky to use correctly, and puts voltage on the shell of a metal quarter-inch speaker cable plug = shock or shorting out hazard. Also, some amp operators like to just punch switches at random, to find out what they do (Read the manual? are you kidding? but that's the way people do things, go figure. Sometimes that's ME.) If an amp is in bridge mode, and speaker connections are made via Neutrik speaker connectors that don't have any shock hazard, AND the speaker load is appropriate, OK to use it that way.

    If you feel up to an experiment, no need to connect speakers, run a signal into the amp, measure AC (signal) voltage at one channel's output terminal with respect to common, then measure from that output terminal to the OTHER channel's output. If the voltage is double, the amp is in bridge. If both channels are turning out signal but measure zero volts when measured one-to-the-other, the amp is in stereo. Don't need to run up much voltage, just one volt will tell you what you need to know.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Hey Leo...
    Thanks for reply... I will go in experiment mode...
    cheers
    Joergen

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,362
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 112/1
    Given: 31/0
    Are you certain that the switch is indeed broken?
    As this is not a switch that you would want to accidently engage, it is recessed in the panel.
    Even in the non-bridged 'Stereo' mode (switch out) the switch is below the plane of the back panel.
    Here is the manual.http://www.ampeg.com/pdf/SVT4PRO.pdf
    Output mode is page 4 & 5.
    The schematic can be found here: AMPEG SVT-4PRO SCH Service Manual free download, schematics, eeprom, repair info for electronics

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Hey Jazz P Bass...
    Im pretty sure
    Took a Picture of it but im not able to upload!
    I have the schematics from ampeg thanks.
    The swicth is like cut of at base with 6 metal "pins or bases" sticking up!!!
    cheers
    Joergen

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Ampeg SVT-4 Pro
    By imix500 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-08-2012, 01:18 PM
  2. Ampeg svt 3 pro
    By ImEX82 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-25-2010, 12:59 AM
  3. Ampeg SVT pro 3
    By jford in forum Tubes (Valves)
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 02:29 PM
  4. Ampeg SVT-4 Pro
    By LocoBassPlayer in forum Other Amps
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-22-2009, 01:49 AM
  5. Ampeg Svt 4 Pro
    By PrimoCapone in forum Music Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-17-2008, 07:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •