KT88 failures

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• KT88 failures

A friend's amp has been sat unused in a shed for a good 18 months. He took it out recently, and played at low volume it blew the mains fuse.

I've opened it up to take a look, changed the fuse and replaced a dodgy power tube grid resistor.

It powered up and passed a signal OK, but the output was heavily mismatched, almost flat on one side.

I noticed that two KT88s (EH) were much cooler to the touch than the others. All pin voltages seemed the same, so it suggested to me that these were dead.

Removing the two left KT88s and putting one of the right KT88s in its place meant the output was a decent sinusoid, although one side took about 10 seconds and some signal to amplify that half of the signal.

I think the KT88 quad was new to begin with. Are these others dead? What is this failure mode? I am new to KT88s and I don't think I have come across a valve that fails in such a polite manner, i.e. just sits there and doesn't do anything. I am used to EL34s redplating and causing problems.

There's been a couple of harsh winters, oxidation of contacts likely to occur.
    Maybe the heater or screen grid circuits were open due to bad contact between socket and pin?
    Perhaps the KT88 are ok really, just needed re-seating?
    Best to confirm voltages on socket are good before powering up with valves in.
    Pete
    My band:- http://www.youtube.com/user/RedwingBand

Comment

Originally posted by pdf64 View Post
      Best to confirm voltages on socket are good before powering up with valves in.
      Noted, that is a more sensible approach. Thank you for your advice. What you suggest seems entirely feasible. I will give the sockets and pins a good clean.
      Thanks!

Harry

Comment

I noticed that two KT88s (EH) were much cooler to the touch than the others.