Checkup On A Fender Tone Master 100W Head

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Checkup On A Fender Tone Master 100W Head

I have a Fender Tonemaster 100W that I am running @ 16 Ohms through the EVM-12L in my Deluxe.

It runs hot enough that it is pretty uncomfortable to touch the standby and power switches.

Do these typically run this hot?

My other question is about longevity and cycling.

My thoughts on long term life of audio equipment is to leave it on if you are using it every or nearly every day.

This has certainly held true for all my studio outboard equipment, consoles, tape machines etc., but I have been wondering as of late on leaving HOT amps running 24/7.

Will they cook themselves silly, or will they be more likely to fail due to cycling induced fatigue.

I appreciate any thoughts on the matter.

John
    e=mc2+/-3dB

Like many other Fender amps, the Tonemaster is a "tubes down" design. The hot air from the tubes tends to rise up and cook the chassis. And being a 100W amp, there is plenty of hot air. So yes, you would expect it to run pretty hot.

With tube equipment, you're always going to have a compromise between thermal cycling and just plain cooking to death, as you pointed out. My personal tradeoff is that I'll switch it on when I first want to use it, then leave it on until I'm done with it for the day, although it depends somewhat on the number and value of the tubes. I would carefully warm up and warm down a hi-fi rig stuffed with a matched quad of GEC KT88s, but with a practice amp containing one Russian EL84, I would just flip it on and off whenever I wanted to play.

Especially with vintage tube gear, I'd think twice before leaving it running overnight or unattended. There is always the risk of it malfunctioning and setting the place on fire.
    "Enzo, I see that you replied parasitic oscillations. Is that a hypothesis? Or is that your amazing metal band I should check out?"

Comment

Steve,