Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bass-a-tar pickups with 2 outputs (Low E and A bass strings/remaining 4 standard)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bass-a-tar pickups with 2 outputs (Low E and A bass strings/remaining 4 standard)

New to this forum and I wasn't able to find any information on something like this.

I dabble in effects construction/modding/amp service. I'm just starting get into building pickups, I'm not good with the theory yet, so I have some questions.

One of my good customers has a custom guitar that has 2 bass strings on the bottom with rest being standard guitar. He's Frankensteined in some p bass pickups and has them wired to a separate output. At first he wanted me to just make two 4 string humbuckers for the neck and bridge, and leave the p - bass PUs in the middle. Then I got to thinking. What if all 3 were some thing similar to Paul Rubenstein's hexaphonic pickups, but with 1 set of 2 string pickups and 1 set of 4 string pickups?

Here's what I'm planning so far:
    1. Cut the stand humbucker bobbins carefully and then wind the 2 separate coils accordingly. (this would mean a total of 12 coils for humbuckers)
    2. Glue the bobbins back together,assemble as normal, and the baseplate would help hold everything together.
    3. We could add another 5 way switch... maybe some coil tapping options... one output to a bass amp and the other to a guitar amp.

My questions:
    1. Am I wasting my time?
    2.If I'm not wasting my time, what kind of DCR should i go for on each of the bass and guitar coils?
    3. Should I try to isolate the magnetic fields of the bass and guitar coils? If so, with what?

Regarding #3 Paul B seems to get some good isolation on his hexaphonic, I wonder if he isolates.

Thanks and any input is greatly appreciated!
    Last edited by Nate Mender; 11-21-2013, 10:04 PM. Reason: typos

Hi Nate:
    Welcome to the forum.