Opinions on the Adams winders?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opinions on the Adams winders?

I am still a newbie at pickup making but have been a Luthier for 13 years. I would love any info that anyone can share about these Adams winders before i commit to buying one. The other hand made winder i used died and i was considering picking this one up.

Any info or opinions helps!

Thanks

Adams Pickup Winder

No idea on the quality, but it looks a bit like the Schatten winder:

STEWMAC.COM : Pictures of Schatten Pickup Winder

You can probably piece something together for less, but it seems like a reasonable price if you want to avoid the effort to build your own. I think one or two folks here can comment on the capability and reliability of the Shatten.

Comment

I started with a Schatten, and fell into a Adams as well, I haven't used either in a few years, the Adams is comparable to the Schatten, but both need a bit of tweaking in my opinion to make them wind nice. I think the Schatten was closer to spinning true than the Adams. My Schatten is the second generation type which means old (I think they are on at least 4th now). So the Adams was a bit nicer in the sense of digital counter and enclosed mechanics, all of which has been changed on the newer Schattens.

If i were you, (cheap advise here), I'd buy the build you own Schatten kit from Stew-mac, and spend some time making sure the mounting plates are spinning true. That has been my demise with those type of winders. It is crucial in my opinion to make certain you are spinning without any run out.

Other than that you may want to upgrade the motor, my Schatten was slower (old model so may have been changed) than the Adams.