Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Roland Jazz Chorus 120

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    241
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 3/0
    Given: 2/0
    Rep Power
    13

    Roland Jazz Chorus 120

    Anyone have a schematic for a Roland Jazz Chorus 120?
    I also need to find what replacement switch I could use for SW3 (Chorus/Vibrato selector). Or do I need to contact the manufacturer?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,821
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 445/2
    Given: 235/0
    Rep Power
    25
    As far as I know, that switch is no longer available.

    Contact Roland to be sure.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Old Timer soundguruman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,522
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 5/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    11
    you 'might'(?) get one from Roland
    this is a special switch but you can use a DPDT center off as a substitute
    the difference is the center off, which is actually a bypass set of contacts.
    When you use DPDT you can't get the true bypass in center off position, but it still works just dandy without the true bypass..

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Roland-JC120-JC160 jpg.jpg 
Views:	16951 
Size:	1.51 MB 
ID:	27023
    Attached Files Attached Files

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Last edited by soundguruman; 01-16-2014 at 05:36 AM.

  4. #4
    Supporting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,305
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 80/0
    Given: 5/0
    Rep Power
    13
    Some of the obsolete switches found in Japanese equipment fail through contamination of the contacts and general oxidation. In many cases a switch can be removed and carefully pried open. Just take care not to over-stress any tabs or lose any springs or parts. Make a note how everything goes together.

    I'd say I have a 90% + success rate in rejuvenating low-voltage switches. Repairing old Roland synths gives plenty of practice! There's rarely enough voltage to cause any burning or pitting.

    I've found that reassembling with a contact grease intended for switch contacts ensures continued reliabilty once the switch is back together. It can also be used as a general mechanical lubricant. Just make sure not to abrade the contacts when cleaning. The stuff I use (Kontakt) removes oxide deposits. Lighter fluid will remove the grease.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi there,

    I have this jc120 and i find the ground wired to positive on "input" jack very strange and the schematics show the same thing ^^. It's seem a ground loop , no ?

    I've always had a problem of hum in this jc120... Many years ago, i even pulled the transformer out the amp several meters away...but always hum.

    Am sure it's come from these wrong imput...

    So what do you think about it ?

    Thanx in Advance for reply

    Greetings

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Supporting Member Jazz P Bass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Wernersville, PA
    Posts
    12,821
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 445/2
    Given: 235/0
    Rep Power
    25
    Not too sure what you mean by the "positive on the input jack is grounded".

    Both input jacks have a normally closed tab on the positive tip that opens when a plug is inserted and remains closed when no plug is inserted.

    The 'High' input jack is closed to Ground.
    While the 'Low' input relies on that closed contact (and it's own) to get to ground.

    Here is a schematic crop of the input jacks.

    Roland JC120' 84.pdf

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    241
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 3/0
    Given: 2/0
    Rep Power
    13
    Wow, this post is really old! I've already moved on to 2 different jobs since leaving the repair business in 2016. The shop closed shortly after I left, but my boss still owed me money. Not worried about it. Wasn't much anyways. I'll still do repairs, but only part-time on the side or whenever my schedule will allow. Mainly on my own stuff. I'll still come back to this site every once in a while.

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Old Timer J M Fahey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    11,557
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,724/18
    Given: 1,326/29
    Rep Power
    26
    Well, visit us often

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Juan Manuel Fahey

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Stereo Separation: Roland Jazz Chorus JC-120?
    By tbryanh in forum Theory & Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-23-2014, 02:09 AM
  2. Roland Jazz Chorus 120 "Schematics needed asap"
    By studiologos in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-24-2010, 01:11 AM
  3. Old Roland Jazz Chorus JC-120: Adding Stereo FX Loop
    By heyniceguy in forum Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 01:20 AM
  4. Roland Jazz Chorus-120
    By jaytallica in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2009, 09:13 AM
  5. Rojland Jazz Chorus JC-120 Repair??
    By widedyed1 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2008, 11:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •