Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunn SR4150 schematic reqd

Hi all

I have a sunn sr4150 with some burnt up resistors. I have a schematic for sr4150 "P " but this schematic uses TIP142/147 on the outputs and Mine uses Tip102/107 and totally different layout on the board. I have never done one before and i don't know how many versions

can anyone Help

BBB

That is what the P on the end means - it is a different model from your plain 4150.

I looked on my discs and in my paper files, and as a Fender/Sunn service center the last three decades, I have only the SR4150P.

CONTACT Fender and ask them if they have it in their files. Include your serial number if you have one on it, that might help them identify the thing. it is possible the same power amp board as used in other models, but I do not recall those transistors in use.

TIP 102/107 are darlingtons just as the TIP142/147 are. The 142 is a 12A part and the 102 is an 8A part. I suspect the two circuits are fairly similar under the skin.
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

I, for one, find it odd that they would use a TO220 device for an output transistor.

Comment

Many thanks Enzo. Looking at the component layout for the " P " version its different and all the component refs are not matching. Ive fixed it once and was using it in the workshop and connected an old power amp to the monitor out and it went bang again. Had been using it for about 3 months since the the repair.

BBB

Comment

Well i can asure you that its correct. 3 x Tip107 and 3 x Tip102. I brought the amp faulty to use in workshop or sell and the output transistors had never been changed

BBB

Comment

It would be awfully obvious if a TO220 was mounted in a TO218 pin spacing.

I was simply stating that it is odd.

Comment

Originally posted by Jazz P Bass View Post
              It would be awfully obvious if a TO220 was mounted in a TO218 pin spacing.