Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

6L6GC from TubeDepot, PSA and questions.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6L6GC from TubeDepot, PSA and questions.

I got 3 bad pairs of JJ's in a row. It took me a while to figure out what was going on because I am just learning amp troubleshooting, but I got 3 pairs in a row - the last two with the extra burn-in service, which I figured was an extra safeguard against duds - all three pairs went bad within 20 hours of playing time, in two different amps, causing stress on gigs and damaging my amp. Also I suspect it was a setback to my learning because I ruled out the tubes as the problem the second time. Three pairs doesn't comprise a random sample, but it seems like the odds of getting 3 bad pairs from a pool of tubes with very few bad pairs... unlikely. Anyway, I for one will be looking for better prospects, which is why I'm here.

First of all, TubeDepot seems like a good outfit. Does anyone have any advice/hookups to get satisfaction on these bad tubes? I really can't afford to keep antagonizing bandleaders, much less throw away money on bad tubes and days on amp repair. I think I don't really know the world of tube amps enough to know what is reasonable to expect. Do you guys just get lots of duds and expect more? Do you call up customer service in an inconsolable fit, demanding they come to your house and work off the debt as indentured servants?

Next, what are some better bets for reliability? What would be a good recommendation if each the following was my second criterion, after reliability:
    • reliability - only one criterion. what's the gold standard for reliability?
    • beautiful, detailed timbre
    • volume/headroom