What should be my first build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should be my first build

I want to try to build a tube head. I want to aspire to build a jcm 900 or a jtm 45 clone. I have seen kits for each one, I was just wondering how difficult they are to build. I am not a professional but I can solder very well. most of my experience has been moding guitars, . also can anyone recommend any books or material to help. also I do have experience as an electrician which may not help much since most of what I have worked with was alternating current. any suggestions will be appreciated

Hi Shaggy:
    I think you mean JCM 800.
    I haven't seen 900s in kit form.
    I went through your deal a few years ago.
    I read everything I could find, and looked at Layouts and schematics galore.
    If you can solder and read layouts, and schematics, you're well on your way.
    The important thing is to learn how to work with and around the high voltage.
    How to discharge Caps, and how to know if the circuit is safe to work on.
    This site has a section on Electric Safety. At the top right.
    Home Index Page
    Here are some of the sites with layouts.
    CeriaTone.Com - DIY Guitar Tube Amp
    TUBE AMP KITS - SALE! JCM800, 18WTMB, 5E3, NEW PRICE 5F1
    https://tubedepot.com/
    Good Luck, and be safe!
    T
    "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
    Terry

Comment