Getting a cleaner, louder Blues Junior

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting a cleaner, louder Blues Junior

First off, I'll preface this by saying this is my first tube amp, so I'm new to this whole game. I've been playing guitar for about 10 years (just turned 24), so yeah, I'm a late bloomer in the tube world. Its a lot easier to sell a goofball high school kid a 100w amp than a 15w amp when the pricetag is the same, regardless of the difference in sound!

Anyways, I recently realized the error in my ways, repented, renounced my solid state roots, washed in the water of the river- well, you get the idea... I bought a Fender Blues Junior. I'm SO unbelievably stoked. It sounds amazing. I have only one gripe- I'd like it to stay clean at higher volumes. I believe I'll soon be referring to this as "breaking up later" or "having more headroom"? I can't yet describe to you what the sound is that I'm going for, but right now I like the way it responds with the volume at about 2.5-3 and the master at about 6-9... just BARELY getting dirty when you pound a chord. What I'm going for is something like the guitar on Tom Waits' Mule Variations... think "House Where Nobody Lives" or "Come On Up to the House."

So from what I gather I can change the tubes and speakers easily, but what recommendations do you folks have in either or these categories, given my goals? I've heard changing the 12AX7s to 12AT7s helps? And what brand/wattage speaker should I be looking for? I realize I could just buy a higher wattage amp, but funds and space are limited, and I'm really happy with the Jr for the most part. I'm no idiot, but I have little to no experience with circuits and electronics, so I'm mildly wary of trying some of Bill Machrone's mods. Has anyone tried this one (not Bill's, but I found it through his site): http://home.comcast.net./~machrone/bjr/bjgunther.htm

Thanks so much,

Jimmy