Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is the sound and power difference between Fender Princeton and Deluxe Reverb?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the sound and power difference between Fender Princeton and Deluxe Reverb?

I know it's a stupid question. I just read a lot of people paid more for a lower power Princeton over the Deluxe because it's lower power and they claimed it sounds better. I looked at the schematic. The difference is in the PI section. Deluxe using standard differential pair where Princeton uses a unity gain stage and pick off from the plate and cathode to form the differential signal.

I have no experience with the unity gain PI stage, it is used a lot in the tweed type of amps. Tell me what is the sound characteristics between the two.

Also, but amps use 6V6 and Princeton has even higher plate voltage on the power tube than Deluxe ( 420V vs 400V). Of cause I know if they use small PT the voltage sag. But you do have the extra 20V!!!

The difference is not just the PI. The 15W Princeton is lower power, which is what some people want.
    Some people are very sensitive to what loudness the amp starts to break up at. For example, to some people, a Deluxe is too quiet but a Super is too loud, they want something in between (like 35W Vibrolux).
    Yes the phase splitter of the Princeton is different, but that is not necessarily why people like them. Some people just want a lower power amp.
    If you want to compare the sound of different phase splitter types, you would have to compare them in the same model amp.

Edit: If you have found some models of Princeton and Deluxe that are same power, please specify exact version numbers.
    Originally posted by Enzo
    I have a sign in my shop that says, "Never think up reasons not to check something."

Comment