Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• B+ = 510volts :(

Hey all,
    This is my first build so im still in the learning process but when I first powered up my amp like a dummy I didn't check any voltages and notice for one I obviously had no sound. Secondly I noticed one power tube was dimmer than the other. So I went about unsoldering eeverything and noticed I had a cold solder on my filament wire to one of the power tubes. I resoldered everything almost with a new soldering gun to make sure It was all good before I powered up again. When I turned it back on after working on it I still had no sound. I checked my power transformer and some other things to make sure all was still well and all checked out. I have 350v DC coming off of my rectifier but when It gets combined with the output tranny at the standby the voltage jumps to 510 at b+ And plate voltage of power tubes. I went to read how biased it was and it was 0.??? Power supply caps shot? bias off? recto not good enough? This is what I have come up with but im just grabbing for straws here lol. Thanks for even letting me post and ask this I love you all and how awesome it is to be able to connect to each other.

nate the red fox
    ?

Can you post a schematic?

Comment

You should mention what amp model this is. Providing a schematic would be even better. The schematic should represent your actual amp and NOT a "similar" amp followed by a text description of the differences. High res photos would be icing on the cake. Voltage readings at each power tube pin and power supply node are necessary.

My only guess at this time is that you have a mistake in the HV rail wiring (the B+ supply circuit). There may be a cap floating, combined with a miswire.

Is the amp grid biased or cathode biased?

Is the amp using a diode or tube rectifier?
      "Take two placebos, works twice as well." Enzo