P90 build/test

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• P90 build/test

Hi... I've been winding pickups for several years now... For the first few I was making pickups for a boutique guitar company and just built and wound the pickups how my boss told me to make them. I've been trying to experiment with designs lately and also I got an order for some P90s. I did some research online about the differences between baseplates, magnets, and winding technique, but being new to pickup design I thought I would be better served by just doing the testing for myself. I'm in the process of building a set of hot P90s so I decided to build two sets. One that is wound with as little variance in layers as possible and another that is "scatter wound". I also made a pair of nickel silver and brass base plates, and since I have A5 and A2 magnets of slightly different lengths, one being 2.44" long, the others 2.5" I figured I should see if that makes any noticeable difference. I should be done with the pickups/testing by tomorrow and I'll post what I find. Anyone wanna take any guesses of what the results will be?
    Jonny
    BuenaVentura Guitars
    www.buenaventuraguitars.com

Not really going to guess, but I have to ask - where in Raleigh are you??
    Jack Briggs

sigpic
    www.briggsguitars.com

forum.briggsguitars.com

Comment

Competition is getting steep in Raleigh!
      Welcome to the B/H forum.
      I've wound more HBs than anything, but my limited P90 in a H mount.
      With 2 magnets Head to head, I like the A2s and either brass or nickel baseplates.
      I like the more vintage rounder sound.
      If you really overwind, I guess the A5s would shine.
      Let us know what you come up with.
      T
      "If Hitler invaded Hell, I would make at least a favourable reference of the Devil in the House of Commons." Winston Churchill
      Terry

Comment