Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Simmons DA200s Blown Fuse

Hi all

I have a Simmons DA200s Drum Amplifier and I seem to have blown the fuse in it. I turned it on and as soon as I hit the switch it made a loud pop and lost all power completely. I was using a replacement power chord and forgot to check the voltage, and it turns out the one I was using was way over the amplifiers specification.

Anyway, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to opening these things up and doing any sort of electrical work on them. So I was wondering if there is anyone out there with any experience in changing the fuse for any sort of amplifiers, or specifically the Simmons DA200S that could give me a few tips? Any pics or anything to help me would go a long way.

I might be asking a bit much with my first post but hopefully there is someone out there who has made the same rookie mistake as I have!

Thanks

Originally posted by dangerfield31 View Post
    I was using a replacement power chord and forgot to check the voltage, and it turns out the one I was using was way over the amplifiers specification.
    What does this statement mean?

If it is a Vac power chord, the wire size has nothing to do with it blowing a fuse.

Comment

Agree^^^^

A plain old power cord is just a power cord. If you are talking about a power adapter, that is different. Power adapters come in types. The connector must fit the device. The adaptor will have a voltage, like 9v, 12v, 16v, 24v . It will have either AC or DC output, and if it is DC, there will be a polarity.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Well. in researching this, I got totally confused.
        The official instruction manual is vague.

I copped this pic off of Google Images.

IEC connector.
        Click image for larger version

Name:	DV019_Jpg_Regular_490556_rear.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	8.0 KB
ID:	833444

Comment