Mini Vacuum Table

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mini Vacuum Table

I built a little vacuum table for making pickup covers. I've been wanting to do this for years, and now I'm kicking myself for waiting so long.

The table is built out of MDF, and the frames are Masonite. A while back, I purchased a 4' x 8' x 1/16" sheet of black ABS from a local plastics supplier so I was ready to go when I got it together today. I heated the plastic in a 375* oven for around five minutes. I only had time to make a couple this evening, but it seems to work great.

I designed it for 9" x 9" blanks. I wanted a size that would draw well, but not waste a lot of material. This is my first attempt at this. I'm pretty stoked with my initial results.

I had time to experiment today. So far, this has been fun. I learned from my last session that I need to lay something directly underneath my frames when I put them in the oven. I had some thin cardboard with a shiny finish on one side. It worked out well.

The best technique that I came up with was to set my oven to 375. I put the frame in over the shiny cardboard. I let it get really hot. Five minutes or so is enough. The plastic is now sagging down and laying on the cardboard This next part needs to be done as fast as possible for the best results. I Remove the cardboard and frame from the oven together and put it on the counter, lift the frame from the cardboard, set it squarely down on the vacuum table, and then turn on the 5 HP shop vac. I got pretty good at it with the little practice I had.

One of the main reasons I've wanted to make my own covers is that I don't really like the choices available for P-90's, Especially dogears. They're just not very attractive.