Bandmaster Reverb - Hum problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bandmaster Reverb - Hum problem

I have an old Bandmaster Reverb head. I've replaced the filter caps & resistors, the 25uf/25volt caps & plate resistors. The amp will work fine for hours, then suddenly develop a loud hum like a dead short. It's at a constant volume, the volume pots or input jacks don't affect it. There is no input signal when it does this, just the hum. I'd appreciate any suggestion in what to look for.

Did you replace the caps and resistors yourself?Check all the compnents you replaced for bad solder joints or components that are drifting when it heats up.The fact that the volume control has no effect on the hum says the problem is someplace beyond that stage.

Comment

The first three things I would check would be tubes, tubes, and tubes.

Put different power tubes in there and see how it responds.
      Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Originally posted by stokes View Post
        Did you replace the caps and resistors yourself?Check all the compnents you replaced for bad solder joints or components that are drifting when it heats up.The fact that the volume control has no effect on the hum says the problem is someplace beyond that stage.
        I replaced them myself, when I first got the amp from ebay it was in sad shape. Someone had used aluminum foil for a fuse :-( I initially replaced the fuse holder and the broken standby switch, and added a grounded AC cable. The amp then worked, but would start sounding weak and compressed after it ran for a while. Then I replaced the caps etc. as they were all original, I followed the Fender guide from hoffmanamps.com. I replaced all the tubes as well and set the bias.