Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Filter Caps replacement. Which is the best solution?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Filter Caps replacement. Which is the best solution?

Hello,
    I am quite new at the world of electronics and new at the forum too, and I would appreciate some help.
    I have an old Fender Amp which has two Mallory 70uF/350V filter caps, which need replacement.
    As I can't find anywhere capacitors with the same specs, I would like to know what is the best alternative.
    68uF/350V ?
    80uF/450V ?
    100uf/350V ?

Also, should I search for a particular make?

Any answer would be much appreciated.
    Thanks,
    jay

Any of those would work fine; I personally prefer F&T, but only cuz they look cool in that shiny black plastic & gold lettering, and cost less than Spragues! I've not had any problems with any brand I've used. Get what you can afford & just make sure they're hooked up right - is it your amp or a customer's? Are you or they cash-poor? Those are my criteria... One caution - if they are going in the cap "doghouse," be sure they will fit - I got some Sprague 100/450s once and they were physically too big.

What amp? We like knowing what's floating around!

Justin
    "Wow it's red! That doesn't look like the standard Marshall red. It's more like hooker lipstick/clown nose/poodle pecker red." - Chuck H. -
    "Of course that means playing **LOUD** , best but useless solution to modern sissy snowflake players." - J.M. Fahey -
    "All I ever managed to do with that amp was... kill small rodents within a 50 yard radius of my practice building." - Tone Meister -

Comment

Welcome to the forum.

Electrolytic capacitors are not tight on tolerances - back in the day caps very often had a value of -20%/+80%. They also often drift in value as they age. A little either way doesn't matter much, though going too big can put an excessive strain on a tube rectifier (if fitted).