Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Total Noob Beginner - PLEASE HELP!!!!

hello guys,
    just registered on here as i am currently working on my first luthiery venture, where i am building my first 7 string guitar.
    i am UK based and i have a ton of questions!!! please please help me as i don't know where to start...

first of all, i am unable to make a winder so i will have to wind by hand (or more like electric drill method...)
    I know what i want to achieve, but i am unsure where to get all the parts to do so.

i really like the way Bareknuckle humbucker pickups look when battleworn and i must admit i really like the way they look when they have 2 rows of hexscrews but want to wind my own.

i decided i would get the parts separately online, maybe via ebay. but i am not sure if the hexscrews i am after are the magnets??? (STUPID question number one...)

if so, can i get any hex screw from any hardware store and just magnetize them????? and if so how???? what exactly do i need to buy to make sure i know what gauss value i need? (keep it cheap please as i am on a budget).

i want to buy the schaller pickup covers to make them look sexy, can they fit any old pickup? what do i need to research???

i am reading the winding guide by mr Loller. so i am grasping the broadstrokes here but could do with the expert advice of live and breathing human beings

thanks a million,

a Noob

Hi, welcome. There are many pickup wonders here, so I hope you get the help you want. I don't wind, but can answer two questions. Hex screws from the hardware will work if they are the right size to fit your bobbins. They are magnetized by virtue of the magnet you'll be putting underneath, between the bobbins. So get screws that are attracted to a magnet. Stainless steel, for instance, is not usually a good choice.