Intro and a question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intro and a question

Hello, My name is Brian Howard and I am a Luthier running my own shop in central PA. Been messing around with guitars almost my whole life and have been in the business of making and repairing them now for about 5 years. You can visit my website at Brian Howard Guitars- Custom Handmade Acoustic Guitars Lately I have been mostly acoustic on the builds but my first guitars I made many many years ago were electric. I am getting back to making some electrics and in keeping with my new mantra of everything being done in house I have decided to wind my own pickups. That brings me to my first question.....

Is there a standard difference in resistance by percentage between humbuckers for the bridge position vs. the neck position.Thanks in advance.
    [B]B. Howard[/B]
    Professional Luthier
    Taylor Authorized/ Custom Finishing services
    Hummelstown , PA

[url]www.brianhowardguitars.com[/url]

Hi
    Brian, and welcome.
    Is there a standard difference in resistance by percentage between humbuckers for the bridge position vs. the neck position
    No, there is no standard. The resistance of a pickup is not a reliable way of measuring output.

Comment

Then what is a reliable way of measuring output?
      [B]B. Howard[/B]
      Professional Luthier
      Hummelstown , PA

Comment

Originally posted by B. Howard View Post
        Second post, and you asked the 'Million Dollar Question'

I use my ears, and limited experience, but other's are much more scientific.

Comment

Hi Brian. Welcome.

I am only a hobbyist that has been tinkering at this for the past 2 or 3 years, so take my comments considering the source.