Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Jason's "heavy metal" neo blades: Where to go from here?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jason's "heavy metal" neo blades: Where to go from here?

Hi, folks. I'm new on this forum, but I'm pretty active on the MIMF. I met David King there, and have received a lot of help and guidance from him (virtually, and in person, here in the Portland, OR area) over the past decade or so. I've even bumped into David Schwab over there in the past. I'm a hobby builder of various guitars, finishing my first this July.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Stringing up.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	98.6 KB
ID:	868853
    This past spring, I also decided that I wanted to build my own pickups, so I jumped in with both feet, bought Lollar's book, and built a winder.

Name:	winder complete.JPG
Size:	1.76 MB
ID:	868852
    Of course, I can't do anything simply or by the books, so I did a little reading, and then made the pickups the way I thought they should look for this project, largely flying by the seat of my pants. My first pickups are rail/blade humbuckers. The flatwork is laminated countertop laminate offcuts, and the core is Home Depot 3/16"x3/4" soft steel bar. David King saw me post some in-progress pics elsewhere and suggested lightening the load on those steel cores, so I drilled em out (they kinda look like brass knuckles, eh?).

Name:	X Rail humbuckers.jpg
Size:	78.3 KB
ID:	868854
    The neck pickup is wound to 9.6k total, and the bridge to 13.6k, both with 42awg wire (from Elektrisola). Under the hood are six 1/8"x1/8"x1/2" neos on each core.

Controls are a standard Carvin arrangement: 3-way toggle for bridge, both, and neck; plus 2 mini switches for coil tap neck north and bridge south. I like the tonal options this gives. 500k audio taper Bourns on volume and tone, with a .022uf cap.