Going Pro...M.I. Amp repair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Going Pro...M.I. Amp repair

I've been a consumer electronics tech for the past 20 yrs, and have owned my own shop for the past couple of years- specializing in factory authorized service for a [redacted] brand of high end A/V components. I'm ready to do something a bit different, like opening a 2nd biz specializing in guitar amp repair. I feel pretty good about my ability to diagnose and make the actual repairs, having scratch built numerous amps and fixed a fair number of tube guitar amps as side projects. I have all the test equipment I might need (scope, sig gen, multimeters, dummy loads, etc.) What I don't know much about is running a shop that specializes in M.I. Amp repair....

- What parts should I expect to stock?
    - What are some reasonable warranty policies on repair to vintage amps?
    - I'm guessing that gigging musicians are going to need super-fast turnaround times. How do you deal with the need to get it done vs. doing a high quality repair? I.e. do I throw in a generic 6600ohm to 8ohm output transformer or wait/special order for an exact match? Supply a loaner amp?

-How do you deal with clients who want piecemeal repairs on vintage gear that really needs a a full restoration?
    -How do you deal with designs which are inherently unreliable? (i.e. certain models of vintage amps with high B+ & no screen resistors.)
    -How do you deal with clients who are inherently unreliable? :-) The "you changed three capacitors, now my vintage tone is RUINED!" types?
    Is it possible to specialize in such a thing nowadays and be successful? Or is the market oversaturated with every 3rd music shop having an amp tech hanging out in the back room?