Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help trouble shooting MOD 102 amp kit.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help trouble shooting MOD 102 amp kit.

Just finished assembling this project and am experiencing some trouble getting it to fire up. This is my first attempt at anything amp related, i've done about a dozen stompbox projects up to this point and trying to get my feet wet with building amps. I've gone over the layout and double checked my work, I'm a little unsure if i have certain components mounted properly because ive never used strip terminals. As of right now, i'm not getting any sort of signal or sound when its turned on. The red indicator light does turn on though.

Here is a schematic: http://www.modkitsdiy.com/sites/modk...chematic_0.pdf
    Here is the layout: http://www.modkitsdiy.com/sites/modk...drawings_0.pdf

Using the troubleshooting guide from the MOD kits website (here: http://www.modkitsdiy.com/sites/modk...supplement.pdf) I took some voltages on the suggested test points and here's what I wound up with.
    HV: 286 VDC
    B1: 286 VDC
    B2: 280 VDC

Power Tube Electrodes
    Pin 7 286 VDC
    Pin 9 0 VDC
    Pin 2 0 VDC
    Pin 3 0VDC

Preamp Tube Electrodes:
    Pin 1 255 VDC
    all other pins measuring 0VDC

Lastly here are some pictures of the inside of the chassis.

Any and all feedback is appreciated, I can post more photos if need be. Thanks!

Welcome to the place.

The voltages that you posted shows that there is little or no current flowing through your amp.

A quick look at the photos show that you have the red wire from the output transformer connected to the B2 node of the power supply. It should be connected to the B1 node.