Ampeg SVT-CL Direct Out broken/Noise off standby

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ampeg SVT-CL Direct Out broken/Noise off standby

Hello! I have a Ampeg SVT classic that has alot of issues.

First issue I have is the standby, when I let the amp warm up for 30 seconds it makes a loud surge noise through the speakers at any volume for about 2-3 seconds then clears away and im able to play, this youtube video will show you exactly what it does.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqABWvWs7DA

2nd issue I have is the amps effects loop and direct out is completely shot. I get no signal from the direct out or power amp in and out. This is frustrating with some gigs because some sound techs prefer using direct out on the head, I am using a sans amp for DI but the fact that it doesn't work pisses me off

The amp works, ive been playing it since feb 2014 and hasnt quit on me, just these issues are really bugging me

Anybody knows whats up? Thanks!

What you're telling me on the rear panel jack & XLR Direct Output problems tells me that your amp has numerous solder fractures across the rear panel of the main PCB. That PCB is supported entirely by the solder joints of the two bias pots, the three phone jacks and the XLR connector. Even if your two heavy transformers (PT & OT) aren't loose, the sheer weight of them during transit is enough to inflict breakdown of the solder joints of those connectors, and probably the two bias pots. It is a very common problem with those amps. And, if the bias pots have solder fractures, you have potential problems that can cause tube failure and worse, though the protection circuit will save you before it gets too far out of whack. The sound you're hearing during power-up may well be from solder issues, so let's start there and get all those under control first.