Behringer DDX3216 revival

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Behringer DDX3216 revival

I have a (nearly) dead DDX3216. Please help me revive it. I am not an electrical engineer. But I have a scope, dmm, soldering station, and some experience repairing electronics.

The mixer has a recapped power supply and the 32.768MHz crystal has been changed.

(1) The (unloaded) power supply voltages seem okay -- but what are the specs? Since the 3.3V is adjusted whenever the 5V is adjusted, is there a priority? Or happy medium? There are other rail inter-dependencies as well. What about those?

(2) When powered up, the LCD has bars briefly, and then goes blank. A variety of switch LEDs come on, sometimes shifting during the boot. The faders shift a couple of times during boot. It seems to me that the CPU must be running since there are (messy) square waves on many of the AM29F040B flash memory chip pins -- although the OE pin, which I suspect should be twiddling, is steady state. Any suggestions on what to check for CPU board operation?

I'm getting another one of these (heaven help me) soon and should be able to compare signals, but, until then, can anyone help me diagnose this beast???

Thanks,
    Wayne

I don't know that specific piece of kit, but in general with processor-controlled equipment the 3.3v needs to be as close as you can get it, as many processors will test for this during the boot sequence and if it's out will halt the process. Usually (but not in every case) the 5v supply has a little more tolerance. For example, the AM29F040B is spec'd at 5v +/- 10%. If you can't adjust the 3.3v and keep the 5v within tolerance then I'd take a look at the PSU again, as it would suggest a problem there.

I would check the voltages at their destination - directly on an IC pin, and monitor them during the power-on sequence.

Do any of the ICs have error lines? If they do and the CPU reads them this may shut the equipment down.

Comment

Wayne,