Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New 2 channel KT88 based P/P design. Check my work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New 2 channel KT88 based P/P design. Check my work?

Hi all,

I'm embarking on a new project. It'll be a 2 channel affair (high gain/fender clean) into a pair of KT88s. The problem is I've never used KT88s before, let alone designed a power supply that will power it.

I read a post on another forum that said essentially a typical Marshall style power supply getting somewhere near 500v is ok, as long as there are 200+ ma current as well. I've tried to simulate this in Duncan's PSU Designer, but get -0v warnings. I'm not sure I'm setting it up properly. The Pwr Supply and Power Stage designs are kind of a mashup of the Naylor Superdrive 60 and the Deliverance 60 (LTPI as per the Naylor, but with P/P KT88 values from the Deli).

Anyway, does this look like it'll work? I'm specifically looking at are the PSU values look ok, and do the PI/PA values look ok for the KT88s?

Any info would be most appreciated.

Thanks!

Output Stage:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	SD+_Pwr_KT88.png
Views:	1
Size:	45.8 KB
ID:	869096

Power Supply:

Name:	SD+_PSU.png
Size:	61.1 KB
ID:	869097

Preamp:

Name:	SD+_Pre.png
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	869098

PS Sim (as close as I could get without generating warnings or errors):

Name:	SD+_Supply_Sim.png
Size:	131.9 KB
ID:	869095
    "I know it's only Rock and Roll, but I like it!"

You have some mistake on the preamp page. You connect the input to the second stage to "E"!!! Also, I would put the 0.0022 DC blocking cap right after the plate of the first stage so you don't have the two RC network floating at high voltage.

I don't think you can have a switch to ground the cathode of the second gain stage.

Comment

Off the top of my head:

if you're running DC heaters, you don't want that artificial center tap before the heater rectifier.