Peavey XRD 680 PA (dual power amp, one side bad) diagnostics

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey XRD 680 PA (dual power amp, one side bad) diagnostics

I picked up a Peavey XRD 680. It is a dual power amp unit, with two speaker outputs per amp (total of four speaker outputs).

Power Amp 1 (PA1) speaker outputs work fine. Power Amp 2 (PA2) has no output. There are two 10 amp internal fuses inline to each Power Amp (PA). PA2 fuses are blown.

I replaced the fuses and hooked the amp up to a light bulb current limiter. The bulb lit and stayed very bright so I did not attempt to run the amp that way. When I disconnect PA2 fuses the light bulb is very dim.

I have no experience diagnosing transistor amp faults so I am hoping for some step by step guidance. I have the working PA1 side I can use as reference points.

At this time I have no schematic for this amp but will check with Peavey on Monday.

Thank you so much!

Here is the power module schematic.
    With luck, maybe it is simply the power transistors that are shorted.

Remove both of the connectors to the power amps. Go across the terminal header, P11 & measure the restance from pin 1 to pin 2 & from pin 7 to pin 8.
    Do the same for the other amp, P21.

A very low reading will indicate a short.

I am not aware of Peavey putting fuses on each power amp.
    There are two fuses on the power supply but they are for the AC side of the + & - power rails.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Jazz P Bass; 12-06-2014, 10:11 PM.

Comment

Thanks for the info, will get back with those readings.

The 2 blown fuses were from the power supply feeding PA2. See attached image for fuse location.

Thank you.

Click image for larger version

Name:	fuses.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	117.8 KB
ID:	836115

Comment

Right Schematic?

I am not sure the attached schematic is the right amp. More specifically my amp is a "XRD 680 PLUS". The output board is called "304S OUTPUT 8".