Please Help with a difficult Ampeg SVT PRO 4 repair

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please Help with a difficult Ampeg SVT PRO 4 repair

I am currently on my 3rd attempt to fix my ampeg svt pro 4. I do have a Degree in Electronics Tech from a my local community college/tradeschool and I am currently working on my Bachelor's in Electronics at a 4 year University, so I know safety and some general knowledge. I really love working on amps and other musical electronics and have had success with tubes amps and smaller repairs before, but I am still learning to try to apply the classroom theory to teach myself more involved amp repair. My old Ampeg SVT pro 4 failed and I am really trying to use the repair as a learning tool.

On a side note if anyone has any suggestions on literature or training courses I can take to further my knowledge please let me know.

The Ampeg Pro 4 has me stumped. It is by far the most complicated amp I have ever worked on. The first failure saw R118 and R119(the biasing resistors for Q102 PNP transitor) burnt to a crisp on the power amp section. O102 qnd Q103 was open Q105 was shorted. The board was scorched and the PCB trace melted by the R118 and R119. R11 was also open leading from bridger rectifier to the R118/R119.

Several of the Power Mosfets(Q110-Q119) were shorted or open.. failure varied...the gate resistors to thso corresponding FETS were open and burnt. The zener diodes D114 and D115 in the gate drive rails shorted.

I was advised by a lab tech at my school to repair what I knew was defective then check the test points. I replaced all the FETS with matched pairs, all the gate resistors, and other general transistors I found to be defective through the power ouput section. I turned the amp on with No gain No volume and still on mute. The amp burned R118 and R119 again as soon as the relay tried to turn on after power up.