Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Switchable VTM 60/120

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    0

    Switchable VTM 60/120

    Hello all,

    Im looking to do the switchable 2 channel mod on either my VTM 60 or 120. Does anyone know where i can get a good set of instructions for this mod? I love the amp to death, just hate that its not switchable between the channels

    Thanks

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    93
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 3/0
    Given: 5/0
    Rep Power
    9
    I didn't realize it had multiple channels to switch between. Are you talking about making the functions controlled by the DIP switches able to be changed with a footswitch or something?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,721
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,604/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54
    It doesn't. The amp has a high gain input and a low gain input. On most amps that just means a couple jacks with resistors to make the difference. In this amp the high gain jack feeds into an extra gain stage, and the low gain feeds into the second stage. Switching contacts on the low gain jack assist. it can be wired for switching "channels" but it is not trivial to do.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  4. #4
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,109
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,062/1
    Given: 839/1
    Rep Power
    16
    How about an A/B box?

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  5. #5
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,721
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,604/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54
    No, because when you plug anything into the low gain jack, the cutout contact breaks the path from the extra high gain stage.


    Imagine if you used an AB box and plugged one into the amp input and the other into the amp FX return. The FX return would work, but the input would not because the FX jack breaks the path. This amp wworks the same way.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  6. #6
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,109
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,062/1
    Given: 839/1
    Rep Power
    16
    Gotcha! I was not aware it was configured in such a way.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

  7. #7
    Lifetime Member Enzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Lansing, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    31,721
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,604/7
    Given: 0/0
    Rep Power
    54

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

  8. #8
    Supporting Member The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    6,109
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 1,062/1
    Given: 839/1
    Rep Power
    16
    Thanks for that, Enzo. Took me a minute to figure out. There's a lot going on there for just an input circuit.

    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    “Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.”

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Peavey VTM 120-- please help
    By jarvis1227 in forum Maintenance, Troubleshooting & Repair
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-24-2014, 10:32 PM
  2. Peavey VTM 60/120 'Dual Channel' MOD
    By Keystring in forum Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-03-2012, 03:18 PM
  3. Peavey VTM 60/120 DC heater mod - Illustrated
    By Guitarist in forum Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 08:43 AM
  4. Question About Peavey VTM-120
    By cujo1977 in forum Guitar Amps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-07-2008, 01:09 AM
  5. Peavey VTM 60/120 'Dual Tone Stack' MOD
    By Keystring in forum Mods & Tweaks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2007, 01:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •