Yet another Bugera 333 XL - 212 fuse blows at power up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another Bugera 333 XL - 212 fuse blows at power up

I do have the Infinium model, in this case.

When I first received this amp a few months ago, it worked without any problems.

Then one day, it suddenly died when I switched from the clean channel to crunch channel. I checked the mains fuse, and it was open/blown.

I acquired one single fuse from a local shop, and, then tried to power up again - I thought that maybe the problem was in the crunch channel side only, but the new fuse blew immediately in the clean channel mode, so it didn't need to switch to crunch to blow the fuse. I ordered a crap load of fuses to continue troubleshooting ...

Once the new fuses came in, I instead removed ALL tubes, and replaced the fuse again.

It again blew .... I do have a set of NON-Infinium schematics, and I am a Certified Electronics Technician, who has worked primarily in aerospace systems, so I can see that I will probably have the opportunity to demate connectors and isolate sections of the circuitry in order to locate the 'bad component'

Silly me, some months after I bought the amp, I threw away the box ... I don't have much room in my smallish apartment, and so it was in the way ...

I now regret that choice ... I may have to buy a travel worthy box in order to obtain warranty work.

On the other hand, this might be a great opportunity to learn about guitar amps, my first love before I started working in aerospace ...

If I continue and remove the chassis from the cabinet, I will most likely void the warranty, so, that's the choice I have .... find the problem, or find a box ....

Enzo? ... any advice here? ... The amp is on my kitchen table, and I have a choice to make ...

Anybody got a spare 333XL-212 amp box?