GU-50 Push-Pull AB OT Impedance/Load Line Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GU-50 Push-Pull AB OT Impedance/Load Line Questions

Hola, MEF! Long time no see. I’ve been pondering a project that I’d like to resurrect and need a sanity check. I’ve been doing the design work for a push-pull GU-50 amp. I’ve never really done the whole “design an output stage from scratch” thing before, so I figured this would be a good time to learn. I’m trying to work out what reflected impedance I need for a pair of tubes operating in a push-pull AB1 output stage. After I get impedance down, I’ll then ask questions about musical output power and power consumption. Unfortunately since this is my first time doing this, I’m a little fuzzy on the rules and customs for selecting an OT impedance, and the research I’ve done is somewhat confusing, so I’m looking for some comment. For the sake of discussions, assume I’m designing around:

800v anode
    250v screen
    Load line selected for maximum power
    Fixed bias

Click image for larger version

Name:	GU-50 0 Grid Knee Method.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	86.3 KB
ID:	869364

Here’s how I approached drawing this load line:
    Start at 800v, 0ma and draw a line directly through the middle of the knee of the 0v grid line. This is the Class B load line (1/4 Za-a) and reflected impedance during the Class B portion of the operating cycle - I name it Blue.
    Calculate the Za-a, then calculate 1/2 Za-a
    Plot a load line for Class A portion of the operating cycle - I name it purple.
    And finially, shift the Class A line up to the desired idle bias point to construct the full AB load line - I name it green.