Help with vintage DeArmond pancake pickup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with vintage DeArmond pancake pickup

I'm a folk instrument builder, and I have taken on the restoration of a 1966 Kay guitar with "zippo" pancake pickups. The original neck pickup has an output of 5.665k, and has a wonderfully full tone. The bridge pickup was dead, so I've been doing research and trying to rewind it. I used a heat gun to soften the wax and free the spindle. Cleaned up the spindle, replaced card stock top plate with one made from scrap pickguard material, and pop riveted the spindle back together. The magnet seemed weak to me but comparable to the one in the neck pickup so I reused it. I insulated the spindle with black electrical tape and 2 coats of shellac varnish. I put 5,000 winds on the spindle and soldered the leads, neg lead to the inside, and positive on the outer side. My rewound spindle produced 4.09k output, but it sounded horribly thin and muddy. I attempted to rewind it again, 5,200 windings, 4.11k output, and replaced the magnet with a similar sized neodymium bar. Once again I got weak, tepid, muddy tone. I've tried reading the FAQ and searched for suggestions, but I can't see where the coil could be shorting on the magnet or spindle as I've taken care to insulate it well. Could I have a bad spool of wire? I'm using Remington #43 enameled copper.

Hi G.S. Monroe:
    Any pictures you could post might help.
    Not sure of bobbin size, but 5300 turns of 43, I would think would be more than 4.11k ohms.
    Can you measure the diameter of the old wire? That will tell gauge.
    You say negative lead to inside (Start Lead), and positive to the outer side (Finish lead).
    What you call neg. , should be ground to a pot back.
    pos. would be + output, to a switch or Pot.
    Make sure the Start lead is not shorted to ground or the covers.
    T