Stray Vintage Trem problems?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stray Vintage Trem problems?

I recently had the rosewood neck planed and re-fretted on my 1983 MIJ Strat. One of the reasons I had the work done because I have been playing the guitar since 1986 and it had the most usable and stable vintage trems I have ever played. Now.... neither the lutihier nor I can get it as stable as it once was. I know most of the tricks. I use a lot of pencil lead, lol. The only thing I can think of that is different is they replaced the original nut (which was some kind of special proprietary black plastic) with a bone one. Bone is supposed to be superior and their work was impeccable. I am just annoyed that we can't get the trem as stable as it once was. Is there a trick with bone that I should know? Any suggestions. I know Strat trems are alchemy.

My higher self is telling me that the problem is in the neck. I'm assuming it was removed, was any shimming or anything done at the joint? Another possibility is that the refret job added wedge to the fret board which (edit) adds to the truss rod tension and the combined tension is causing minute changes in the relief spec. Try slacking the truss just a bit and re-check the neck joint for anything suspicious.

Another possibility is you might just need to break it in again. It held the tune because it was well broke in....... time to put some miles on it
    Last edited by Silvertone Jockey; 05-09-2015, 06:01 AM. Reason: grammer

Comment

Originally posted by Silvertone Jockey View Post
      My higher self is telling me that the problem is in the neck. I'm assuming it was removed, was any shimming or anything done at the joint? Another possibility is that the refret job added wedge to the fret board which (edit) adds to the truss rod tension and the combined tension is causing minute changes in the relief spec. Try slacking the truss just a bit and re-check the neck joint for anything suspicious.