Solid State Acoustic Guitar Amp - Hum Problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Solid State Acoustic Guitar Amp - Hum Problem

I'd really sincerely appreciate help - I've just bought a lovely seldom-seen amp model (Crafter DSP1) - about 10 or 15 years old - bought it in a noisy environment, discovered very conspicuous hum when used at home.

I managed to get a schematic which is attached here. I am very new to electronics, although have long experience with passive guitar circuits.

The hum is irrespective of the volume control and starts before the relay switches on. With the amp loud, the hum is drowned out and the amp sounds very good, but quiet playing is spoiled by it. I estimate the hum at 100Hz-200Hz, though will check next time it's reassembled.

I have replaced the two big 4700Uf power supply caps and the two adjacent 470uf caps - no improvement :-( [boxed in yellow on the schematic]

I have ordered new rectifier diodes.

I have begun checking earths - I've checked the ones boxed in blue on the diagram so far. The only odd thing I have found so far is that C64 and C66 (orange box on schematic) appear to be polarity reversed compared to the schematic. Can anyone tell me if this is significant?

Please does anyone have any other suggestions (or any encouragement!). I'll really be very very grateful... I love this amp, my first one specially for acoustic guitar, but the hum is really disappointing. I have multimeters to hand if there is anything I can test to help diagnosis!

Thank you,
    Rob

Crafter DSP forum.pdf

Originally posted by robdean View Post
    I have begun checking earths - I've checked the ones boxed in blue on the diagram so far. The only odd thing I have found so far is that C64 and C66 (orange box on schematic) appear to be polarity reversed compared to the schematic. Can anyone tell me if this is significant?