Cooling fan re-connection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cooling fan re-connection

Hi all, I need help reconnecting a cooling fan on a carlsboro 1500 Marlin powered P A amp please.
    I required this amp a week ago. I ran this amp for about 25 minuets and the thermal cut-out shut the amp down.
    On inspection I found the fan was not working.I tested the fan and it was working,so on stripping down the amp found the red and black wires are not connected.
    Can some one please give me the connections.Thanks.Michael

Welcome Mikey.

I have no real knowledge of your amp, perhaps if you can find a schematic for it, that will show you how to reconnect the fan. If the fan has a plug on the wires, you might be able to find the matching connector on the pc board.

How hard were you driving the amp before it shut down? If you weren't driving it that hard, your amp might have an overheating problem, that may need more than a fan to fix it.

Comment

Cooling fan

Originally posted by 52 Bill View Post
      Welcome Mikey.

I have no real knowledge of your amp, perhaps if you can find a schematic for it, that will show you how to reconnect the fan. If the fan has a plug on the wires, you might be able to find the matching connector on the pc board.

How hard were you driving the amp before it shut down? If you weren't driving it that hard, your amp might have an overheating problem, that may need more than a fan to fix it.
      Hi Bill and thanks for the response.No plug on the red and black wires,just bare ends,looks like they have been damaged in a previous strip down,
      It was a very hot day and a outdoor Gig,the volume was only on number two. Carlsboro are great amps and the only reason they are not well known
      out side of the UK is no famous artists have used them.I have used Marshalls,Vox,Messa Boogie and I think thay are on par with all those.
      Carlsboro are 70s,80s,and 90s,classics.Thanks,Michael.

Comment