Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need Help: Gibson GA-5T Skylark Crestline: low volume, modulated distortion & more

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help: Gibson GA-5T Skylark Crestline: low volume, modulated distortion & more

Hi, everyone. I’m looking for some help debugging this amp and you guys were so helpful last time, I thought I'd bug you again. I’m using this project to learn more about tube amps. FWIW, I’m not a total newbie; I promise I can safely take readings and have a basic understanding. I just really want to learn everything about these things.

When we first got this amp, it had a hum, extremely low volume, bad decay and a nasty modulated distortion. The tremolo was also non-functioning. After changing to a three-prong grounded plug, removing the death cap and replacing all of the electrolytic capacitors, as well as reflowing a few old solder joints that looked iffy, the hum was gone and the tremolo started working again. Yay! I also replaced a couple of the old resistors that were failing/failed and, because I didn’t have a 100k on hand for one of those, I changed the input resistors to 68k so I could use one of the 100k's there that tested good, figuring it was more important to have a working 100k in the circuit than at the input jack.

At any rate, the volume is still low. At 3, the strings are louder than the amp and 10 is maybe half what this amp should put out. Also, the higher notes cut out at first, then come in and lower notes start strong, but then decay. The distortion starts between 5 and 6 and hangs throughout all the way to 10. (Now, I just turned the amp on to get those exact numbers and the blasted tremolo isn't working again. Darn it.)

So, I've taken voltage readings off all the tube pins (installed), in the hope that one (or more!) of you all will be able to help me figure this out.