100w valve head cutting out

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 100w valve head cutting out

Hi all, i have a Wharfedale TCT100 100w all valve head running into a hand-made 2x12 celestion cab. The head is a bit of a rare beast, i dont think very many were made, they were later re-branded and now sell as Albion amps. I've been gigging the amp regularly for about 4 years now and had no problems at all until last night...
    towards the end of a 2 and a half hour set, the amp started cutting out.. to be more accurate it lost volume considerably and the sound was weak and distorted (not in a desirable way, more crackly/broken sounding). I play through a distortion pedal and a wah as well as running a multi-effects through the send/return loop on the amp, so i bypassed the wah and distortion and plugged my guitar directly into the amp although i forgot to bypass the loop on the amp (gig pressure!). Still, the sound was the same... it seemed ok for the first few milliseconds of hitting a note on the guitar but would then immediately go quiet and broken-up. I'm fairly used to the sound of dodgy cables and the like and i'm as sure as i can be that this was an amp problem... besides which i ended up plugging the guitar into the p.a. to finish the gig and there were no signal problems there.
    Have spent today testing the amp with my usual gig setup... played it for 2 hours at gig volume, left it on for several hours, came back and played some more... absolutely fine!
    As i say, i've gigged this amp a lot over the last four years, it's been in some very tight spots, left on for hours, played at high volume and i've never had a problem. Now i'm paranoid it's going to happen again next time i have a gig... and i have no idea what might have gone wrong!