Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alumitone whistling

Hi All

I had a customer in yesterday who has an 8 string guitar with alumitone pickups that whistle. Has anyone had similar problems and is it wise to wax the pickups. I've got a set in another guitar in for a setup and I must say the insides from what I can see look a bit fragile. Any opinions ?

Cheers

Andrew

I have no experience with Alumitone pickups but I've dealt with Lace before and the customer service was very good. Lace may even be a member here.
    I'd contact Lace customer service and describe the issue. Tell them youre a pickup builder and see what they say about wax potting.

Phone: (714) 898-2776
    Email: Info@LaceMusic.com

Business Hours
    Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm PST
    Saturday - Closed
    Sunday - Closed

Comment

the primary, that is the aluminium frame, picks up physical vibration easily, like when you tap on it with a pick it's very loud. so probably under high gain the frame is vibrating against the body or a screw, or it could be the secondary is vibrating against the primary. tighten it down, use rubber tubing around the screws, waxing could help to secure all parts.

Comment

Hey there, first post. The alumitones use Barium Titonate. They are built with a ceramic magnet with copper tape as the upper conductive surface -lead soldered- from there a layer of Barium Titonate and capped with another layer of copper tape -lead soldered- with a piece of fridge magnet material. These if I recall are sent to a 1.8 milihenry <--(?) inductor choke. The only coils that would need waxing exist in the choke. Waxing the frame would most likely cause damage to the Barium Titonate. If they are whistling the conductive surfaces have most likely separated somewhere and general vibrations must be causing them to whistle. Do they continue to whistle when adding pressure to the underside of the magnets?
        Last edited by Dave R. -Turnbull-; 08-01-2015, 09:22 PM.

Comment