No announcement yet.

Preamp with crossovers on pickups? (Acustic guitar) ...Novice looking for help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Preamp with crossovers on pickups? (Acustic guitar) ...Novice looking for help

Hey guys,

I'm still pretty new to this stuff and I don't really know where to stick this thread so I opted for general. My only background in acoustic pickups was with a small manufacturer. I only did assembly; no design! I've built a few pedals and amps however...

Try to follow me on this:

A certain gutar company from Australia has a darn good-sounding pickup/preamp going on. When I spoke to their rep, he explained that they isolated the frequencies at which each pickup sounds best by using crossovers (I even wrote the Hz down after our conversation).
    There are 3 pickups in this guitar: 1 internal mic, 1 bridge piezo and 1 soundboard piezo. There is a pot to blend the 2 piezos, then volume and bass/mid/treble. I know they use op-amps -I saw the Texas Instruments chips, but the SMT construction hurt my eyes. There were 2 quad chips and one dual (I wrote down which models but don't have them in front of me right now).

I want to try my hand at building something similar but the material I've read online about crossovers has me confused because they are mostly used for speakers (obviously). Does anyone here know how they might have done it?

Originally posted by Natman View Post
    I want to try my hand at building something similar but the material I've read online about crossovers has me confused because they are mostly used for speakers (obviously). Does anyone here know how they might have done it?