Laney GH50L hum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laney GH50L hum

Hi folks! I'm a complete noob when it comes to electronics, but I'm eager to learn. I recently picked up a Laney GH50L cheap, as it was being sold with a description of "crackles and pops, tubes missing". I replaced all tubes and fired it up: after biasing it sounded pretty much as I remembered (I used to have one years ago), but there was noise, like various types of it. After much Googleing and poking around, I managed to get rid of some of the noise and general fizziness.
    Here's what I've done:
    -replaced the reservoir caps (50+50uF on the schematic, were actually 100uF) and smoothing caps(C12, C11, C10, C1).
    -installed a 220R humdinger pot in place of the heater winding CT
    -replaced heater wiring for V1 and V2 with a twisted pair
    -removed C9 (based on reported reduced hiss by someone on AX84)
    -replaced C5 and C6 with a single 2p2 (same as above)
    -replaced V1a and V1b grid stoppers with 2W metal films, went to a 180k on V1b
    -moved the power tube cathode ground connection to the point where the caps and the PCB are grounded.
    -tried several known good tubes in all positions.

As it stands, I'm really happy wih the tone; the fizzy top end is gone and the hiss associated with the additional gain from V1b is just the price you pay for the gain, I guess. However, a hum remains. It's very close to a low G# on the guitar, so I think it's 100Hz.

- the hum is present with or without input, and is pronounced enough to be a nuisance at bedroom master volume levels, if the gain is above 10 o'clock
    - the hum volume responds to both gain pots and master volume
    - it fades away within a second of switching off HT

Any and all help in tracking it down would be greatly appreciated. I only have a DMM at the moment, although I'm on the lookout for an affordable 'scope.

Sorry about being so long-winded