Oscilloscope For Amp Maintenance?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oscilloscope For Amp Maintenance?

Hi folks, I recent was given a good working Tektronix 2215A oscilloscope. I have been dabbling in tube amp repairs and maintenance for the past couple of years.
    Self taught mostly from reading, studying and soldering lots. Lots of good folks on here keep me pointed in the right direction. I spent a few hours today learning
    about what oscilloscopes do and how. I think I have a basic understanding at an entry level. Is there much use for me in using an oscilloscope for amp maintenance?
    I was watching a You Tube video today about how to test capacitors for ESR values. As caps age, the ESR increases, and can been seen on the scope. I was thinking
    this might be a great tool to test questionable vintage caps. It appears, I would have to pull a cap, test it, replace or reinstall as needed?
    Instead of just changing all caps because they are original in vintage amps, maybe I can preserve and keep the good ones? Does this seem reasonable? It seems I need a signal generator
    to accomplish this, but there are several affordable options on the net it seems. What other good uses are there for an oscilloscope and signal generator for use on
    tube amps? I'm a rookie, so any comments from you folks with experience is appreciated.
    I an quite enjoying learning about all these amp, and tube circuits. Thanks, Keith.

Yes. A sig gen is a natural companion for a scope when testing audio circuits.
    Lots of uses for a scope:
    Tracing the signal through an amp to determine where there is a problem
    Looking at self noise of a circuit
    Analyzing ripple on power supply lines
    Determining if full wave rectifiers are operating properly
    Viewing the overall shape of a waveform. (Looking for crossover distortion, clipping etc.)
    And many more.
    Checkout "Oscilloscope applications" on youtube.