Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So I need some help for a new prototype.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So I need some help for a new prototype.....

Need and amp designer/builder. The amplifier will be to complement my line of acoustic/electric guitars and pickup systems. I hold a patent on a lo-z acoustic guitar pickup design, and have another entirely different system that is hi-z. I've used this second system in more than 230 guitars, basses, and mandolins that I have made, and in a hundred or so add-on pickup systems for acoustic guitar, both flattop and archtop. I have always needed a good tube amp design to go along with my instruments.

I do have a 3rd prototype that I've been using for several years, and am wanting to expand on the design. It's a very simple circuit, using 12AT7s for the preamp and phase splitter, and EL34s for the output. it's all mounted in a Mojotone "Tweed Deluxe" cab, along with an Eminence Beta 12LT speaker. All of the gain stages are designed to go into clipping at the same time....which gives me the best "clean" tones. The amp has an aluminum chassis for weight considerations, and all up weighs about 32lbs. CLEAN output is in the 25 to 30 watt range. Single tone control.

I currently have three amps I play through, two Fenders and the Wendler prototype. I've just modded the Fenders slightly...lower gain input tubes(12AT7) and the Beta 12LT speaker. The Fenders are a 10 year old Blues JR. and a 20 year old Hot Rod Deluxe.

What I would like to have designed and laid out for manufacturing is a Twin Reverb front end, a tube buffered EFX loop(parallel), and a pair of EL34s on the output. I'm not averse to using 6L6s, but my ears tell me the EL34s have a sweeter tone, and in comparing the HR Deluxe to my prototype, I can sure hear the difference. The amp needs to be designed for max clean gain.

Anyone interested?

Dave
    Guitar Repair Kansas City | Luthier Acoustic Electric Guitar